Plano Mayor Pro Tem Lissa Smith was elected President of the North Central Texas Council of Governments’ (NCTCOG) Executive Board at NCTCOG’s 50th annual General Assembly, which was held on Friday, June 17. The Executive Board is the policy-making body of the Council of Governments which serves the 16 North Central Texas counties of Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant and Wise. Mayor Pro Tem Smith will lead the 17 member board for the next 12 months. “I am proud to be at the helm of an organization that throughout its 50 year history has been at the forefront of promoting regional partnerships and the collective power of local governments,” said Smith.

Smith assumes the leadership of NCTCOG from Hunt County Judge John Horn. North Richland Hills City Council member Tom Lombard, was elected Vice-President, and Waxahachie Mayor Kevin Strength was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

President Smith was first elected to NCTCOG’s Executive Board in 2012 and served as Director and Vice President before being elected President. She has made her home in Plano since 1990, where she has been a longtime community activist and Collin County civic leader.  In 2009, she was elected to her first term on the Plano City Council and was re-elected in 2013. President Smith also brings 13 years of experience as District Director for former State Senator Florence Shapiro.  Most recently she served as CEO of Meals on Wheels Collin County.

In the past month, Lissa Smith has been a part of events around town such as Night Out on 15th and the Fire Truck Wash with Plano Mayor LaRosiliere.

avatar of city of plano

City of Plano

Plano, Texas, is the largest city in Collin County with a population of 271,140 as of January 2015. Incorporated in 1873, the city is located 20 miles north of Dallas. Plano was recently named the third...