excellence in volunteer service awards
Ann Harris (center), pictured with Frisco Mayor Maher Maso and Junior League of Collin County President Jennifer Tinsman, won the Spirit of Collaboration award. She was nominated by the North Texas Community Giving Foundation.

The Junior League of Collin County (JLCC), an organization of over 900 women committed to promoting volunteerism in the community, presented the 2016 Collin County Excellence in Volunteer Service awards on Thursday, April 7.

Jennifer Tinsman, JLCC President, gave guests a warm welcome, followed by the citing of the Pledge of Allegiance with the Girls Scouts Northeast Texas Honor Guard and a beautiful rendition of the National Anthem by Arta Fan, a Plano West Senior High School student.

Keynote speaker Hilary Jackson, Capital One, and April Tate, JLCC Board of Directors

Hilary Jackson, Vice President of Home Loans Default Servicing for Capital One, was the keynote speaker. Jackson is also a member of the Junior League. “It is so important to honor our local nonprofits and volunteers who are helping people in need and making Collin County an even better place to live,” she said…At Capital One, we share the commitment to make a positive difference. Volunteer hours by Capital One associates in all of Collin County, in 2015, totaled more than 27,000,” revealed Jackson, garnering an applause from the audience.

Jackson cited specific examples of the company’s volunteer efforts from Habitat for Humanity and the Boys and Girls Clubs of Collin County to the Mayor’s Summer Internship Program and The Samaritan Inn.

You can read more about Capital’s One impact in the community in our May issue!

“To the nonprofits and individuals who are being honored, you are among the best in Collin County,” said Jackson. “Congratulations on receiving these awards and thank you for setting the bar of excellence in volunteer service so high.”

2016 Collin County Excellence in Volunteer Service Award Winners:

Middle and High School Students of the Year
Nikita Ramachandran (middle school student) – Nominated by VIBHA
Emily Means (high school student) – Nominated by National Charity League

Youth Organization of the Year
Young Men’s Service League

Community Volunteer of the Year
Marilyn Mahoney – Nominated by Children’s Health/Children’s Medical Center of Plano

Community Leader of the Year
David Pearce – Nominated by Journey of Hope

Community Organization of the Year
Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) of Collin County

Small Business Leadership Award
Masergy – Nominated by Children’s Advocacy of Collin County

Large Business Leadership Award
811 Texas – Nominated by The Turning Point

Spirit of Collaboration Award
Ann Harris – Nominated by the North Texas Community Giving Foundation

[print_gllr id=6084]

Winners were selected by the Community Advisory Board of Junior League of Collin County:

Gary  Caplinger, Mayor Pro Tem for the City of Allen
Shannon Chen, VP of Operations/Admin, DFW Technolgoy
Amber Futrell, SVP Commercial Relationship Manager, Compass Bank
Mary Alice Garza, City of Plano Multicultural Outreach Program
Brian Loughmiller, Mayor, City of McKinney
Maher Maso, Mayor, City of Frisco
Dr. Mary McRae, VP/Provost, Collin College
Allison Miller, Director, Frisco Education Foundation and Partners in Education Program, Frisco ISD
Dr. Maroba Zoeller, Chief Governmental Relations Officer, Allen ISD
Jan Rugg, Manager, Public Affairs, Atmos Energy Corporation
Mark Wiggins, Financial Advisor, Wiggins Wealth Strategies

The 2016 Excellence in Volunteer Service Awards Committee included:
Sara Egelston Akers, Chair
Ann Boswell, Sustaining Advisor
Janie Gilkison
Fern Gimenez
Debbie Hayes
Kelly Noonan
Amanda Willoughby

For more information on the Junior League of Collin County, visit jlcollincounty.org.

Brit Mott

Brit is a Leadership Plano Class 25 graduate and Leadership Frisco Class 10 graduate. She received her Master’s in Journalism from the University of North Texas and her Bachelor’s in Mass Communication...