plano rugby girls state championship
Plano Rugby Girls U-19 State Champions

Plano Rugby Club girls team takes home the Texas Rugby Union State Championship title!

The team traveled to Baylor University this past weekend for their final game of the season, ending with a U-19 girls team 30-0 big win against Kingwood (Houston, Texas area).

plano rugby girls state championship awards
Reagan Hunter and Niamh Savage with their honors

Coaches John Hunter and John Savage were proud of their victorious team:

  • Niamh Savage, Captain, Senior
  • Allison Allen, Junior
  • Isabela Becker, Sophomore
  • Claire Doles, Sophomore
  • Stella Gresham, Sophomore
  • Reilly Harrison, Senior
  • Reagan Hunter, Sophomore
  • Gloria Mackay, Junior
  • Eleanor McCabe, Sophomore
  • Rue Ncomo, Sophomore
  • Faith Waller, Senior

Two team members were then honored: Reagan Hunter received the Rugby Texas Forward of the Year Award, and Niamh Savage was named Tournament MVP.

Rugby continues to grow in popularity, especially with the sport’s return to the Summer Olympics in this year’s games in Rio de Janiero, Brazil. The Plano Rugby Club was created in 2000 for boy and girl rugby players ranging from U-9 to U-19.

Interested in knowing more? Visit or contact

avatar of colbea smith

Colbea Smith

Colbea Smith is a young professional who grew up in Plano and loves the community she will always consider “home”. She is a proud alumna of Texas State University – Go Bobcats! – who spent most...